Ethical Disclaimer & The Beginning

My mother’s formal education was cut short at an early age, but she was a voracious reader. She taught me to read before I went to school, and there were always lots of books in our house.  She used to say that if you know how to read, you can do anything.  A lofty claim, but it’s mostly true.  I suppose that even if you were urgently required to shut down a runaway nuclear reactor, you could do it, if someone has left sensible instructions taped to the desk.  Which brings me to my ethical disclaimer.

When it comes to miniatures, I’m not a creative genius.  Everything I’ve accomplished so far, I’ve done with the help of many scarily talented and incredibly generous miniaturists posting very kind tutorials, complete with photos, for people just like me.  I can read, and therefore can do (almost) anything with written (or photo) instructions.  Any talent I may possess consists of giving the finished product my own spin.  Well, they do say God is in the details, right?  Or is that the devil?  Hmm!  Anyway,  I’m a firm believer in giving credit where credit is due, so whatever I materialize for this contest, I’ll be happy to point out whose fault it is.

And so it begins!


100_2044100_2043 copy100_2045

Re: the Undersized Urbanite contest, this little chair is what got me thinking.  I “won” it on Ebay by being the only person to bid on it.  $10.  What a deal!  It’s very neatly made, and it’s signed “Bill and Leona” which I Googled to discover that they are famous.  So there.  I have a tutorial on this same sort of chair which involves microscopic nuts and bolts which, frankly, gives me the heebie-jeebies to contemplate fiddling around with.  To save my sanity (and my husband’s), I decided that letting Bill and Leona do the work was the safest bet.

vicki

Here is Vicki, showing you the chair is not only cute, but sturdy and comfortable. Vicki should be wearing a bikini, but she’s happy enough wearing her fall ensemble, which happens to be her ONLY ensemble.  Clothes for this little person are shockingly expensive.  She lived in a pair of Victorian pantaloon thingies for the longest time until I took pity on her and bought this outfit from JingsCreations on Etsy.  She will remain barefoot for the time being.  Shoes for her are out of the question when I can spend the same amount of money at Payless on a pair for myself!  When she’s impertinent enough to complain about her shoeless state, I remind her that she’s living RENT FREE in a RealGood Toys Newport and hasn’t the least idea of what life in the real world is like.  Besides, I have a tutorial on making doll shoes.  Before she knows it, she’ll be staggering around in a grossly misshapen, but well-intentioned, pair of something vaguely resembling shoes that I will be happy to cobble together for her, albeit with a great deal of swearing.  She’ll love them!

But I digress.  The little chair, Patti Page singing Old Cape Cod, and a colonial dollhouse kit (called “The Windham” which arrived today with the lovely scent of Earth and Trees Miniatures lingering on the box) is forming a tiny little idea in my brain!  Whether I will ruthlessly stamp this tiny little idea out or allow it to flower remains to be seen.  More to come!

Leave a Reply

